Silisqueeze from the Silicompany. Reusable food puree pouches!

I just received my Sili Squeeze for replacing those costly and non-ecofriendly food purée pouches that little owl loves. Ever sine she started showing an interest in the food pouches- they were not popular when she was doing purées AND we made our own baby food anyway- I have tried to find a more ecofriendly solution that we could make ourselves. I tried everything and ended up frustrated and wishing I could think of someway to create what The SiliCompany offers with SiliSqueeze!

When it arrived I was very excited to try it out so when we went to store for errands I excitedly gathered the things I needed and got a happy tingle in my stomach as it brought back memories of making puréed baby food for little owl when she was a baby. We got home with our ingredients, washed and simmered, and, while eaiting, I got out our Vitamix; a baby food making mama’s best friend! Little owl immediately said “noisy” and covered her ears with a concerned look and whimper. Now the Vitamix is noisy, after all it is a blender, but not bad compared to some. I offered her her headphones and she asked daddy for a cuddle and we were ready to go!

After making our yummy mixture, we poured it in the SiliSqueeze and the leftovers into her glass storage container and put it into the fridge- I gave her a taste and she couldn’t wait! I had to put it in the freezer to cool faster.

The regular nipple is as I feared, impossible to suck things from even as an adult. I tried biting, gumming, chewing, and sucking and with no avail, I got out the scissors. I started to cut the stopper on the inside to allow for a smoother suck. The silicompany is coming out with a nipple that has no flow restricting spill protection that will be ideal. My suggestion would be to keep that slower flow for infants starting purées but use a reusable stopper under the nipple like the Dr. Browns bottles. This may be the case for the newer nipple that they have coming out soon, but for now the scissor snip inside the nipple worked just fine and allows for little owl to have frustration free sipping. Now I am sure to keep the lid on and keep it upright. It is nice becaus eit does stand upright in the fridge.

Compared to food punches…
Pros:
-Ecofriendly
-You can make your own purée compared to food punches companies that choose
-Saves money rather buying endless expensive food punches
-Dishwasher safe
-New valve flow to choose from and grow with your child–I ordered one of these as well and it is MUCH easier for children to suck the purees through.
-Fun colors!

Cons:
-Must stay refrigerated after making purées Rather than taking it with you and using it whenever or throwing it in a diaper bag or purse. It would probably be a lunch box thing
-Requires you to go the extra step to cook and clean up
-Difficult nipple valve could cause some frustration–if older child get the SiliSqueeze with Eeze

Overall, this product is going to a new item in our household over commercially made food pouches. Being an ecofriendly family, conservation and reducing our impact on our environment is important to us as well the ability to create combinations of our own while saving money at the same time, therefore little owl will be sorting SiliSqueeze pouches from now on! I will probably be using the commercial pouches for travel or vacations longer than a day, but other than that, day trips and home will have little owl squeezing her snacks Sili!

Little Owl’s “Nummy” Purée:

Organic blueberries, small carton
Organic apples, cut and unpeeled
4 tbsp plain organic Greek yogurt
Cinnamon
Vanilla

Mango Pineapple in Paradise

Organic Pineapple

Organic Mango

1 organic banana

coconut flakes

Wash, cut, and peel apples and add them in a saucepan. Add washed blueberries. Simmer on low for 8-10 minutes. Blend. Fill SiliSqueeze. Cool. Serve. Makes 2 SiliSqueeze pouch servings. Put remainder in glass Container for filling within 2 days of making.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Becky said,

    love the recipe! I think I’m going to buy one today 🙂

  2. 2

    caro said,

    I plan to make my good, place in pouch and freeze to make it more “out and about” friendly 😉

  3. 3

    Melissa said,

    I have a sili squeeze as well but have found it to be very difficult to use with my 10 month old. Have you heard of this product: http://www.littlegreenpouch.com? It looks like it will be a good alternative as well.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

