Femmecup: Part One

Femmecup ( WARNING: Graphic content, read at your own risk or cover you eye while screaming “LALALA I can’t read you” and scroll to the next post)

“Femmecup is a soft reusable menstrual cup worn internally just like a tampon except it collects menstrual flow instead of absorbing it. Femmecup has endless benefits, it is more eco-friendly, healthy, cost effective and convenient than tampons or pads.”

Information from Femmecup’s website:

How Femmecup Works

Click to enlarge

Femmecup is a reusable menstrual cup worn internally just like a tampon except it collects menstrual flow instead of absorbing it.

Femmecup forms a gentle seal with your vaginal walls and any flow is contained in the cup.  It is then simply removed, emptied into the toilet, rinsed with water and then reinserted; Femmecup is always with you when you need it most!

Femmecup is non-absorbent so it can be left in place for up to 12 hours with no risk of Toxic Shock Syndrome; you may want to empty it more on heavier days and less often on light ones, it really is your personal choice as long as you always keep to the 12 hour rule.  In between periods your Femmecup should be sterilised either by boiling in water for 2-4 minutes or rinsing with sterilising fluid such as Milton.

Femmecup holds up to 30ml, that’s 3 times more than tampons or towels can absorb; so Femmecup is great on heavy days and light ones too.

Femmecup is easy to insert and remove.

Technical Information

Femmecup is 50mm in length and 45mm at its widest point. It holds 30ml of fluid (approximately one third of your entire monthly flow). It is worn internally but unlike a tampon it collects the flow instead of absorbing it. When inserted Femmecup forms a gentle seal with the vaginal walls so there is no leakage. Femmecup is reusable and lasts around 5 years so it is highly cost effective.

The stem at the base of the cup is 15mm long and aids easy removal, it can be trimmed to any length; some women even remove it altogether.

Ladybug & Owl meet Femmecup…

Mama Ladybug and I could barely wait to get our periods once we received our Complimentary Femmecups to review (and some to GIVEAWAY!! Stay tuned) I chatted with Mama Ladybug about how we should probably give it a go BEFORE the big day arrives. She thought it was a good idea so when we had some ‘alone time’ after the little ones were snuggled in their beds we gave it a go in preparation for what was to come. Being eco-minded mamas, we were eager to save the earth one tampon at a time! Here is our story…

Journal of the Femmecup.

Mama Owl, Day 1: So I received my Femmecup in the mail and excitedly checked it out. It is smaller than I thought which is a good thing I suppose. I put it up in my bathroom to try later. After passing by it several times and KNOWING that I would need to try it before showtime, I finally decided today was the day. I washed it off and got it a bit wet. Folding it into the 7-fold (the only one I could remember or even get it to fold into) and gave it a go. POP it opened halfway ‘in’. Okay, attempt number two. POP—OUCH the stem is sideways. Hmmm. Well now what? Its a tad ‘slippery’ and I get it into the trusty 7-fold and try again. POP, almost in, but not quite. With a bit of shoving in the right spot it fit right in like a glove. I stood up. Did a shimmy. Can’t feel it! Well it was successfully in, now to get it out…yup. Get it out. Well I sat down and went digging. That thing is in there to stay. Supposedly they say that they can be in there for 8-12 hours and they aren’t kidding. I broke the seal, but definitely had to get a bit in there to get to the top, pulled it down from the stem (I cannot IMAGINE how people cut it off! I need it or I think I would panic that it is going to be lost and stuck up there forever!) and it caught the suction again. If the “material” it holds stays in there well, this shouldn’t be that messy, but I am sure we will need several cycles to get the hang of it exactly. After one more break of the suction I folded it a bit (definitely not enough), and it came out. Okay, not so bad for my first try! I certainly wouldn’t say it was “easy” but with time and practice it definitely will be. After all my first attempt at a tampon was 10 times worse!  I did feel slightly crampy for a short time after, but that could be from all the tugging, suctioning of the nether-regions, and maneuvering that ensued. That is all for now. The Femmecup as been throughouly washed with warm soapy water and adorning my vanity waiting for another try or the real deal! Until next time…

From Mama Ladybug’s perspective
Can I just say I’ve never been this excited to get my period. I was just hoping my Femmecup would arrive in enough time and is showed up right on time. I have recently had a desire to find an alternative to tradition pads and tampons, not only for the obvious eco-friendly reasons, but because my poor girly bits get all rashy and uncomfortable after even just a day or two of pads/tampons (more so after Little Ladybug came along). So when Mama Owl wanted to review menstrual cups I was all for it!

Mama Owl suggested to me that I try out the femmecup insertion techniques before I actually get my period. She’s smart, I didn’t even think of having to dig around down there with all that going on. And I would recommend practicing the folding techniques even before that. Because let’s face it, while it’s not rocket science you are kind of going in blind. So I went home, folded and unfolded my cup in a few different styles, washed and re-washed and then popped it in. I will say it was a strange sensation, my folded cup popping open but once it was in I really couldn’t  feel it. The instructions said that you may need to trim or cut off the stem but so far I don’t think I will need to. I couldn’t even feel it in after walking and moving about. Taking it out was interesting….I’m not sure I would know what removing a suction cup from you nether-region feels like but I’m sure it felt something like what I experienced. That might be what takes more getting used to than the insertion. So far I love it but now I just need Flo to come visit to give you the real low down.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Helen said,

    Thanks for reviewing a cup, spreading the word to other woman who are unaware of the option they have in heminine hygine products. I have used a cup myself for just over a year now, and love it. I wish I could tell the whole world about it.

    Blessings from Canada!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

