Peace Weighted Blankets

For those with various special needs things that come easy to some, like
sleep, are a near impossible task. As I mentioned in another post Little
Ladybug has struggled with sleep since day one and at almost three has only
slept through the night a handful of times. Her OT ( occupational therapist
) had recommended a weighted blanket. I searched what seemed like all
corners of the internet before coming across
http://peaceweightedblankets.com/. Kristi has been a joy to work with, her
communication through out the order and the speed of the process was great.
She offers lap pads, toddlers blankets and up. If you have ever looked for a
weighted blanket you know they are pricey but Kristi has good quality
blankets ( my mother is a quilted by trade so passing her test is good
enough for me! ) at reasonable prices. Since it’s just Little Ladybug and me
I need to keep us on a budget, and at $45 for a toddler blanket I was able
to do it compared to the $75 minimum I was finding at other places.  

The first night Little Ladybug used her new blanket she said it felt like a
“hug from Mama”, I’m assuming she is referring the to deep pressure. I
normally hear Tad’s song over and over through the monitor with some “Mama?
……Mama?!” here or there but only 2 rounds of Tad! I was scepital that it
would work just like that and chalked it up to a late night the night before
and not much of a nap. Since then sleep has improved, I can’t say she is
sleeping through the night but that would a miracle fix. She is waking less
often and able to fall asleep easier when she does wake. I’m hopefully with
the combination of OT and blanket I will have a rested child.

Even used as a lap pad I find it helpful. Little Ladybug is a big cuddler
but just simply can’t sit still and is always fidgeting on my arms. I placed
the blanket over her lap and it helped her to fidget less. We just used it
for a long car ride that involved a nap on the road, a normal scream fest.
It was a dream, she went out in a flash! For those kiddie in daycare the lap
pad is a nice size to drape over them on nap cots, 12 x 20.

Overall I would recommend this blanket to anyone with sleep issues, young or
old, special needs or not.

L and O rating: *****

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Art said,

    Not used for the same purpose, but saw this and thought I would share. At 50, my body is not what it was and have had problems with RSL (Restless Leg Syndrom) which woke me during the night with muscle spasms in my legs and such.
    Someone suggest one of these blankets to me. I purchased it and since using it have not woken during the night since, the only times I wake now is when I keep one of my legs out from under the weighted blanket.
    I am not sure medically if this is something that is promoted, but as a user of the blanket for my problem, it has resolved it 100% for me.

    • 2

      Art,

      Thank you so much for the input! Little Owl is actually going to be getting one as well and we are hoping for relaxing sleep for her as well. Thank you for sharing your story! Kristi is a very wonderful and sweet woman who fills her blankets with exactly that….peace!

      All the best,
      Ladybug and Owl

  2. 3

    Art said,

    I am sorry, for the sake of mentioning it, mine also came from http://peaceweightedblankets.com/


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

